Our Vision

The vision of the Montfort Academic Family Health Team (MAFHT) is to maintain and improve the health of our patients by providing comprehensive and integrated care in both French and English, and to educate the francophone primary care physicians of the future.

Our Mission

The Mission of the MAFHT is to provide our patients with access to top-quality comprehensive and continuous care; work with the University of Ottawa to offer our medical students and students of other allied professions the best possible French-language education; continually develop, evaluate and refine evidence-based best practices for team-based family medicine; and as a member of the University of Ottawa’s Department of Family Medicine, fulfill our responsibilities to develop the physicians of the future.

Click here to download the clinic policies in PDF format.

What is a Family Health Team (FHT)?

A Family Health Team is an approach to primary health care that brings together different health care providers to co-ordinate the highest possible quality of care for you - the patient.

Designed to give doctors support from other complementary professionals, most Family Health Teams will consist of doctors, nurses, nurse practitioners and other health care professionals who work collaboratively, each utilizing their experience and skills so that you receive the very best care, when you need it, as close to home as possible.

What will Family Health Teams mean to me?

Let's break this down a little bit more.

Family Health Teams are patient centred and you will have access to a number of primary health care services from a variety of team members, including your family doctor.

For Example:

  • Your family doctor will continue to see you during regular office hours.
  • You will have access to other other health care professionals within that Family Health Team, such as nurse practitioners, nurses, dietitians and pharmacists.
  • You will have access to a Family Health Team doctor during extended evening and weekend hours for urgent problems.
  • If you see another doctor in you Family Health Team for treatment, your own doctor will receive documentation about the nature of your problem so that he or she will always be up-to date about your medical condition.
  • If you need assistance after-hours, you will be able to telephone the Family Health Team Telephone Health Advisory Service where a registered nurse will provide advice about your urgent health care concerns.
  • With your permission, your doctor will receive a written summary of your call the next day, so that your doctor is informed of the nature of the problem and the advice you received.
  • Family Health Teams will be able to take advantage of specially funded information technology to organize your health information and share it securely with other health professionals.
  • Family Health Teams will be organized to offer you timely access to high quality primary care. Research shows that this access results in you being healthier, longer.

Our Team

The Physicians

Dr. Anne-Marie Auclair
Dr. Stefan de Laplante
Dr. Kay-Anne Haykal
Dr. Luis Rivero Lopez
Dr. Hélène O'Connor
Dr. Lyne Pitre
Dr. Michael A. Phillipowsky
Dr. Renée Prince
Dr. Jean A. Roy

The Interdisciplinary Team

Chantal Rioux and Caroline Sauvé

Nurse Practitioner
The nurse practitioner (NP) works closely with the family physicians. She has advanced training and experience in health care. The NP’s role is to offer primary care to patients, including evaluating and treating acute problems and helping in the management of chronic diseases. The NP can prescribe medications, make requisitions for laboratory or hospital tests and perform screening exams. Having her in our team allows patients to have quick and easy access to quality health care services. Furthermore, the NP has a very important role in the development, implementation and coordination of the programs offered by the team.

Samantha Fournier et Stephanie Tulsiram

Dietitian
The dietitian is a nutrition expert, who plays an essential role in the maintenance and achievement of good health. She meets patients of all ages and health status to help them improve their diets. After making an assessment, she can develop a plan that will allow patients to achieve their goals. By educating patients and provivding expertise on the subject, the dietitian helps patients understand concepts in nutrition, to distinguish facts from fiction, and also to create and achieve realistic goals.

Crystal Yukich

Health Educator
Through clinical work with clients, assessing the understanding that patients have of their health or illness, development of comprehensive educational programs for patients, and participation in assessment of physical fitness and risk of falls of older people, the health educator works to improve the overall health of her patients by reducing modifiable risk factors. The health educator helps patients adopt a healthier lifestyle, including increasing their physical activity by determining their fitness level and developing a realistic program that they can follow to achieve their health goals.

Mélissa Boileau

Clinical Pharmacist
The role of the pharmacist in our team is to assist physicians and patients in managing medications. Part of their job is to educate patients about the role of their medications and about drug interactions. In addition, he/she may help patients organize their medications, which will help to facilitate adherence to a drug program and achieve the desired effects.

Dr. Crystal Holly

Psychologist
As a member of the mental health team, the psychologist offers a wide range of psychological services such as: assessment, diagnosis, planning and implementation of psychological treatments. The psychologist also acts as a consultant providing expert advice in psychology. She works with medical professionals to deliver primary health care in regards to psychological disorders through the preparation and teaching of psycho-educational materials.

Fatima Abdo and Claire Sales

Social Workers
The social worker is a member of the mental health team. She meets patients to offer them help when they are going through a difficult period in their lives, especially in dealing with stress, grief and difficulty adapting to a new situation. She offers direct counselling sessions as well as providing resources in the community, like financial, housing and food programs.

Christine Derowin, Louise Morel and Nadia Trudel

Registered Practical Nurses
The nurse is the starting point for patients at the clinic. His/her responsibilities include: giving immunisations, measuring blood pressure and other body measurements, performing small office procedures, ensuring follow-ups with patients, contacting pharmacies, assisting patients in crisis, answering question and health education. The nurse also act as a liaison with public health agencies.

The Administrative Team

Nancy Renaud

Front Office Supervisor

Amélie, Emilie, Louise, Melanie, Pascal, Marielle

Front Office Team

Haider Arab, Anna Paquin, Phillipe Gagnon

Medical Records Clerks

Simon Blais

Summer Student

Rachel Galipeau

Finance Manager

Olivia Smith and Hawra Arab

Program Administrators

Madelayne DeGrâce, Kurtis Boulianne

Technical Consultants

Margaret DeGrâce

Reconciliation Analyst

André Veilleux

Executive Director

Ellie Kingsbury

Quality Improvement Decision Support Specialist

The Board of Directors

Dr. Kay-Anne Haykal

President and Lead Physician

Dr. Renée Prince

Secretary

Dr. Stefan de Laplante

Treasurer

Dr. Michael Phillipowsky

Medical Director

Dr. Hélène O'Connor

Director of Education

The Family Medicine Unit: A Teaching Unit

The Montfort Academic Family Health Team is a teaching unit of the Department of Family Medicine of the University of Ottawa. During their studies, students and family medicine residents must be directly observed by their professors. The student or the resident you will consult at the clinic may possibly be under the direct supervision of his or her supervisor by means of a camera. A consent form will be given to you and will be explained by the student or the resident. You must sign it at the time of your visit.

Our Emblem: The Laurel Leaf

Notre emblème

The laurel leaf is a symbol of education, of the pursuit of education, as well as of healing. The word “baccalaureate” means: laurel berries. It is awarded to students when they obtain their university baccalaureate. In Ancient Greece, the laurel crown was given to newly qualified physicians. In traditional medicine, medication extracted from laurel berries is often considered to have powerful healing properties.

Feuille de laurier

The laurel leaf is a symbol of education, of the pursuit of education, as well as of healing. The word “baccalaureate” means: laurel berries. It is awarded to students when they obtain their university baccalaureate. In Ancient Greece, the laurel crown was given to newly qualified physicians. In traditional medicine, medication extracted from laurel berries is often considered to have powerful healing properties.

Notre emblème
Feuille de laurier

Notre vision

L’Équipe de santé familiale académique Montfort travaille au bien-être et au maintien de la bonne santé des patients en leur offrant des soins complets en langue française et anglaise tout en formant les professionnels de la santé de demain.

Notre mission

La mission de l’ESFAM est de fournir à ses patients un accès à des soins de santé complets et continus de la plus haute qualité; de travailler avec l’Université d’Ottawa à offrir aux étudiants de médecine et d'autres professions de la santé la meilleure éducation possible en langue française; de continuellement développer, évaluer et perfectionner les pratiques exemplaires fondées sur des données probantes pour les équipes de médecine familiale; et, en tant que membre du Département de médecine familiale de l’Université d’Ottawa, s’acquitter de sa responsabilité de former les médecins de l’avenir.

Cliquez-ici pour télécharger les politiques en format PDF.

Qu'est-ce qu'une équipe de santé familiale (ESF)?

Les équipes de santé familiale représentent une approche en matière de soins de santé primaires qui rassemble différents fournisseurs de soins de santé afin de coordonner leurs efforts et de donner des soins de la meilleure qualité possible pour vous, le patient.

Cette équipe est conçue pour offrir aux médecins le soutien d’autres professionnels de la santé. La plupart des équipes de santé familiale seront constituées de médecins, d’infirmières, d’infirmières praticiennes et d’autres professionnels de la santé qui travailleront ensemble, chacun mettant à profit son expérience et ses compétences, afin que vous receviez les meilleurs soins qui soient, au moment où vous en avez besoin, aussi près que possible de votre domicile.

Que signifieront les équipes de santé familiale pour moi?

Les équipes de santé familiale concentrent leurs efforts sur le patient et elles vous donnent accès à de nombreux services de soins primaires offerts par une gamme de professionnels qui sont membres de l'équipe, notamment votre médecin de famille.

Par exemple :

  • Votre médecin de famille continuera de vous voir durant les heures d'ouverture habituelles.
  • Vous pourrez consulter d'autres professionnels de la santé membres de l'Équipe de santé familiale, comme des infirmières praticiennes, des infirmières, des diététistes et des pharmaciens.
  • Vous pourrez consulter le médecin d'une équipe de santé familiale durant les heures d'ouverture prolongées le soir et les fins de semaine en cas d'urgence.
  • Si vous consultez un autre médecin membre de votre Équipe de santé familiale, votre médecin recevra des données sur la nature de votre trouble afin qu'il soit toujours au courant de votre état de santé.
  • Si vous avez besoin d'aide après les heures d'ouverture, vous pourrez téléphoner au Service téléphonique d'aide médicale et une infirmière autorisée répondra à vos questions concernant vos problèmes de santé urgents.
  • Avec votre permission, votre médecin recevra un résumé écrit de votre appel, le lendemain, afin qu'il soit informé de la nature de votre trouble ainsi que des conseils que vous avez reçus.
  • Les Équipes de santé familiale pourront tirer profit de technologies de l'information qui font l'objet d'un financement spécial afin d'organiser vos données médicales et de les partager de façon sécuritaire avec d'autres professionnels de la santé.
  • Les Équipes de santé familiale seront organisées afin de vous offrir un accès en temps opportun à des soins primaires de grande qualité. La recherche montre que cet accès vous permet de vivre en meilleure santé et plus longtemps.

Notre équipe

Les médecins

Dre Anne-Marie Auclair
Dr Stefan de Laplante
Dre Kay-Anne Haykal
Dr Luis Rivero Lopez
Dre Hélène O'Connor
Dre Lyne Pitre
Dr Michael A. Phillipowsky
Dre Renée Prince
Dr Jean A. Roy

L’Équipe interdisciplinaire

Chantal Rioux

Infirmière praticienne
L’Infirmière praticienne (IP) travaille de très près avec les médecins de famille. Elle possède une formation et une expérience avancée dans les soins de santé. L’IP est responsable d’offrir des soins de santé primaires aux patients, de régler les problèmes aigus et d’aider dans la gestion des maladies chroniques. L’IP peut prescrire des médicaments, faire des requêtes pour des examens de laboratoires ou à l’hôpital et effectuer des examens de dépistage. Sa présence dans l’équipe permet d’augmenter l’accès aux services de santé pour les patients. De plus, l’IP joue un rôle important dans le développement, la mise en œuvre et la coordination des programmes offerts par l’Équipe.

Samantha Fournier et Stephanie Tulsiram

Diététiste
La diététiste est une experte en nutrition jouant un rôle essentiel dans le maintien de la bonne santé. Elle rencontre ainsi des patients de tout âge et de tout état de santé afin de les aider à améliorer leur alimentation. Après avoir fait une évaluation des patients, elle peut élaborer un plan qui permettra aux patients d’atteindre leurs buts. En éduquant les patients et en offrant son expertise sur le sujet, la diététiste aide les patients à comprendre les concepts en nutrition, à différencier les mythes de la réalité, à créer des objectifs réalistes et à les atteindre.

Crystal Yukich

Éducateurice en matière de la santé
Par l’entremise de travail clinique avec la clientèle, l’évaluation de la compréhension que les patients ont de leurs maladies ou de leur état de santé, le développement des programmes complets d’éducation à l’intention des patients, et la participation à l’évaluation de la condition physique et des risques de chute des personnes âgées, l'éducateur en matière de la santé travaille à améliorer la santé générale des patients en diminuant leurs facteurs de risque modifiables. L'éducateur en matière de la santé aide les patients à adopter des saines habitudes de vie dont augmenter leurs activités physiques en déterminant leur niveau de conditionnement et en les aidant a développé un régime réaliste qu’ils pourront suivre afin d’atteindre leurs objectifs de santé.

Mélissa Boileau

Pharmacienne clinicienne
Le rôle de la pharmacienne dans l’équipe est d’aider les médecins et les patients dans la gestion des médicaments. Elle est responsable, entre autres, d’éduquer les patients sur le rôle des médicaments et les interactions lorsque plusieurs médicaments sont prescrits. De plus, elle aide les patients à organiser leurs médicaments ce qui aidera à faciliter la prise de ceux-ci et à suivre les directives pour achever les effets désirés.

Dre Crystal Holly

Psychologue
Comme membre de l’équipe de santé mentale, la psychologue offre une vaste gamme de services psychologiques, tels les évaluations, les diagnostics, la planification et l’application des traitements psychologiques dans le cadre des soins de santé primaires. Notre psychologue agie aussi à titre de consultante en offrant des conseils experts en matière de psychologie. Elle collabore aussi avec les membres du corps médical afin de livrer les soins de santé primaire en ce qui a trait aux troubles psychologiques par l’entremise de la préparation et l’enseignement de matériel psycho-éducatif.

Fatima Abdo et Claire Sales

Travailleuses sociale
La travailleuse sociale, membre de l’équipe de santé mentale, rencontre des patients dans le but de leur fournir de l’aide lorsqu’ils traversent une période difficile dans leur vie, notamment en cas de stress, d’anxiété, de deuil et de difficulté d’adaptation. Elle offre des sessions de counseling directes et assure un aiguillage efficace vers les services et les ressources communautaires tel que les programmes d’aide financière, de logement, d’alimentation et plusieurs autres.

Christine Derowin, Louise Morel et Nadia Trudel

Infirmières auxiliaire autorisées
L’Infirmière auxiliaire autorisée (IAA) représente le point d’entrée pour les patients à la clinique. Elle est responsable, entre autres, d’administrer les immunisations, de mesurer et inscrire les tensions artérielles et les mesures corporelles, de faire des petites procédures de bureau, d’assurer des suivis avec les patients quant à certains résultats, d’assurer une bonne communication avec les pharmacies, de fournir des ressources cliniques et communautaires aux patients, d’aider les patients en crise, de répondre aux questions et de faire l’enseignement en matière de la santé. Notre IAA agit aussi comme agente de liaison avec les agences de santé publique.

L’équipe administrative

Nancy Renaud

Superviseure à la réception

Amélie, Louise, Melanie, Pascal, Marielle

Équipe à la réception

Haider Arab, Anna Paquin, Phillipe Gagnon

Préposé(e)s aux dossiers médicaux

Simon Blais

Étudiant d'été

Rachel Galipeau

Gestionnaire des finances

Olivia Smith and Hawra Arab

Administratrices de programme

Madelayne DeGrâce, Kurtis Boulianne

Conseilliers technique

Margaret DeGrâce

Analyste de la réconciliation

André Veilleux

Directeur général

Ellie Kingsbury

Spécialiste à la décision pour l'amélioration de la qualité

Le conseil d’administration

Dre Kay-Anne Haykal

Présidente et Médecin chef

Dre Renée Prince

Secrétaire

Dr Stefan de Laplante

Trésorier

Dr Michael Phillipowsky

Directeur médical

Dre Hélène O'Connor

Directrice de l'enseignement

L’unité de médecine familiale, une unité d’enseignement

L'équipe de santé familiale académique Montfort est une unité d'enseignement du Département de médecine familiale de l'Université d'Ottawa. Pour leur formation, les étudiants et les résidents en médecine familiale doivent être directement observés par leurs professeurs. L'étudiant ou le résident que vous consultez à la clinique sera peut-être sous la surveillance directe de son superviseur par l’entremise d’une caméra. Un formulaire de consentement vous sera remis et expliqué par l’étudiant ou le résident. Vous devez le signer au moment de votre visite.

Notre emblème : La feuille de laurier

Notre emblème

La feuille de laurier est à la fois un symbole de l’éducation, de sa poursuite et de la guérison. Le mot « baccalauréat » signifie : baies de laurier. Il est décerné aux étudiants à l’obtention de leur baccalauréat universitaire. Dans la Grèce antique, la couronne de laurier était remise aux médecins nouvellement qualifiés. De plus, dans la médecine traditionnelle, les médicaments extraits des baies de laurier sont souvent considérés comme agents de guérison puissants.

Feuille de laurier

La feuille de laurier est à la fois un symbole de l’éducation, de sa poursuite et de la guérison. Le mot « baccalauréat » signifie : baies de laurier. Il est décerné aux étudiants à l’obtention de leur baccalauréat universitaire. Dans la Grèce antique, la couronne de laurier était remise aux médecins nouvellement qualifiés. De plus, dans la médecine traditionnelle, les médicaments extraits des baies de laurier sont souvent considérés comme agents de guérison puissants.

Notre emblème
Feuille de laurier